Skip to main content

Western Regional Graduate Program

The Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP) allows graduate students who are residents of the WICHE member states and enrolled in certain programs to pay in-state tuition at participating universities outside of their home state. The WRGP tuition rate is automatically applied to a student’s account if eligibility requirements are met.

The WICHE states include:

Alaska Idaho South Dakota
Arizona Montana Utah
California Nevada Washington
Colorado North Dakota Wyoming
Hawaii Oregon The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Eligible Programs at New Mexico State University

Students must be accepted into one of the following programs at NMSU to receive the WRGP tuition rate:

Eligibility Requirements

  • Be admitted to the NMSU Las Cruces campus as a degree seeking graduate student in academic good standing
  • Be a U.S. Citizen or permanent resident
  • Be a resident of one of the participating states
  • Be nominated by the admitting College or Department

Renewal Requirements

  • Complete a minimum of 5 or more credit hours per term on the NMSU Las Cruces campus
  • Maintain a semester GPA of 3.0 or better
  • Renewable for a maximum of six semesters, provided the student meets all other eligibility requirements