NMSU branding

American Indian Tribal Member Waiver

A limited memorandum of understanding for American Indian Nation, Pueblo, or Tribal Members located in New Mexico.

Eligible students are assessed New Mexico in-state tuition rates. To be eligible a student must be:

  • admitted to the NMSU
  • a U.S. Citizen or permanent resident
  • a member of an American Indian Nation, Pueblo or Tribe, located wholly or partially in New Mexico, regardless of residence

The following American Indian Nations, Pueblos, or Tribes are located wholly or partially in New Mexico: Acoma Pueblo, Cochiti Pueblo, Fort Sill Apache Tribe, Isleta Pueblo, Jemez Pueblo, Jicarilla Apache Nation, Laguna Pueblo, Nambé Pueblo, Mescalero Apache Tribe, Navajo Nation, Ohkay Owingeh Pueblo, Picuris Pueblo, Pojoaque Pueblo, Sandia Pueblo, San Ildefonso Pueblo, San Felipe Pueblo, Santa Ana Pueblo, Santa Clara Pueblo, Santo Domingo Pueblo, Taos Pueblo, Tesuque Pueblo, Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, Zia Pueblo, Zuni Pueblo

Renewal requirements:

  • complete 12 undergraduate hours each semester
  • maintain a semester GPA of 2.0 or better

For more information please visit the University Registrar’s website.